1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AI Suggestion

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - General Discussion' started by Chris_Traat, Jun 7, 2021.

1. Chris_Traat

Chris_Traat New Member

Hi,

I have a suggestion regarding the AI. Let’s start by saying that I love AMS2 and I think how the AI behaves is really good.

The problem with the AI

The problem I have with the AI is, that either they are too fast or too slow. There is no in between for me. It gets worse when you start a championship. For example, you set the AI to 100% and the first track you drive they are just too slow and for the next race the 100% is way too fast. So it kinda kills the fun for me.

The solution

I’m no programmer myself but I think there could be an easy solution for this. In iracing, that I never use to do AI racing, you can set a range of skill. So you can set the AI for example to 85% - 100%.

As an simple example lets say you do a race with 20 AI opponents and set the skill range to 85%-100%. Then 5 AI cars could be around 100%, 5 on around 95%, 5 on around 90% and 5 around 85%. That is a very simple example. It would be cool if the „skill“ is spread randomly with some fix parameters. Like at least 2 cars have to be on 100% and 2 have to be at 85% and the rest somewhere in between. With this fix you could have good races on all tracks. Sometimes more in the front sometimes more in the back.Because even on tracks you are not so good you could probably still beat the 85% AI cars. Same on tracks that you are good at. There you could be challanged by the cars that are at 100% or more.

I hope what I wrote makes sense :)

Let me know what you guys think

Cheers

2. Pales

Pales Member