1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMS1 working in VR

Discussion in 'Automobilista - General Discussion' started by mr_belowski, Nov 29, 2020.

  1. DaVeX

    DaVeX AMSUnofficial Staff Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    940
    Maybe with your (and the others guys involved) help/guidance our beloved @Retrolux could port the latest features in AMS too?
    Would be great and really appreciated by the community...
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. Balrog

    Balrog Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    51
    Oh, I forgot to answer to this: I found a great workaround for that which was suggested to me by @The Iron Wolf : It's possible to use (or even create your own) SimHub overlays and show them in VR with CrewChief's SteamVR overlay feature. I found a very compact overlay for VR which is linked in the description of this video, basically it works great with both rFactor 2 and Automobilista (or any other sim for that matter) and it can be placed and scaled however you want. Just a quick showcase in AMS:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Balrog

    Balrog Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    51
    I was using the OpenVR plugin as well, until someone pointed out to me that it creates a slightly distorted image from my Index and from that point I couldn't unsee it either.:D So I found another alternative, which is SteamVR's built-in VR View (it can be enabled or disabled via the SteamVR menu), the feature set is similar to the plugin, the left or right eye is selectable (it even has this sort of experimental "both eyes" feature, but unfortunately the output can be very unpleasant depending on the car, so I abandoned it after a little experimenting), the only downside is that the recorded frame is not adjustable, but the FOV is correctly calculated in return.:)
     
  4. Retrolux

    Retrolux Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    79
    @Balrog
    For the hud overlays I am also using simhub dashboards and add them directly in StreamVR itself as floating desktop windows (recent update has added that feature). Do you know if the CC overlays are stored per game and automatically positioned where they where before based on the window title?

    As for the streaming the OpenVR plugin is the best i could find in terms of performance and resolution as it picks directly the texture from one of the eyes. Having an Index myself i dont notice any distracting distortion actually. You need to crop into the view to match the center of your view and which reduces the FOV distortion. Using the SteamVR mirror has a two lower resolution for me as it copys one eye into a smaller window.

    You can see the steamVR overlay dashboards here and the resolution using 100% SteamVR resultion only:
     
  5. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just wanted to tell you guys, that unlike SVR, CC VR overlays allow keyboard toggle on off. In sim racing, not everyone uses controllers, so I added this keyboard wiring etc. And, as far as "per game", SimHub remembers games, but I don't play that many different to tell how convenient that is (I only used SH Motec in RBR, otherwise I just use ShakeIt capability and no UI).

    Big kudos for CC overlays to Morten who implemented overlays in CC (I was just fixing bugs and polishing it all). My rig has no monitor and getting to desktop in VR with a key press is amazing as is not begging Valve to do things and getting ignored. This is such a successful feature, that it made me use CC even with games that CC does not support, just the convenient overlay capability.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2022
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Sparten

    Sparten New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    19
    There is 1 HUGE factor that makes porting GTR2 improvements to AMS much much harder, and that is real time debugging, there is nothing in GTR2 that prevents this, but in AMS only static analysis of the executable is possible(its packed and protected) so setting brake points is not possible on the retail version, it might not sound like a big deal but trust me it is.
     
    • Informative Informative x 4
  7. wrench76

    wrench76 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2022
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,
    First post
    I want to give this a try but the link isn't working for me. None of my Chrome based browsers will open the link at all, and niether firefox or edge will let me download the zip. Both say the file can't be downloaded safely.
    Thanks
     
  8. Lieutenant-Llama

    Lieutenant-Llama New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2022
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right click on the link and go save "target/link as" Then on the download, click on the down arrow and go keep.
     
  9. Lieutenant-Llama

    Lieutenant-Llama New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2022
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having my own issues. Basically my game crashes on escape (I have disabled Exit confirmation menu). In short if I start a race and press escape straight away it's all good. As soon I cut a lap or so and escape it crashes to desktop. Any ideas?
     
  10. Jorge Fernandez

    Jorge Fernandez New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi i`m triying run amb 1 in vr , i dont know where is the linkc to download the mod, somebody show me where is it?

    thank you
     
  11. Salvatore Sirignano

    Salvatore Sirignano Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    67
    AMS1 working in VR
     
  12. Jorge Fernandez

    Jorge Fernandez New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. Salvatore Sirignano

    Salvatore Sirignano Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    67
    With regard to the performance and there being room for optimisation, and there being headroom for the underused GPU at the moment, is it worth it to throw better hardware at it?

    I have a 4670k CPU and a GTX 1060 6GB graphics card. Would upgrading to a 7700k with a GTX 1080Ti yield a significant improvement? Or upgrading CPU only? Running in VR with high details would be incredible!
    I would be upgrading solely for the purpose of AMS1 in VR and better performance, it's all I desire in terms of gaming, I don't play anything else really.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Tommy Can

    Tommy Can New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  15. Retrolux

    Retrolux Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    79
    Here is a little AMS1 VR help guide to help to improve your experience with the mod:
    VR Guide & Tipps
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  16. Seven Smiles

    Seven Smiles New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Good stuff but note that CC can map the VR recentre button:
    ResetVRview.jpg
     
  17. Retrolux

    Retrolux Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    79
    Does this work for AMS1 in VR as well? As far as I know the VR mod is not part of crewchief itself right now. Not integrated like it is for GTR2.
     
  18. Bjarne Hansen

    Bjarne Hansen Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    18
    I never got CC to work with ams1 VR Center.
    If you got a mouse with a center button than that is very convenient to use as VR centering.
    recenterHMDVirtualKey = 0x04
    or 0x05 and 0x06 if you have those extra buttons
     
  19. Chastria

    Chastria New Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    ams1 is working fine with the rift but it is impossible to play :
    I set Exit to Confirmation Menu = off but the game crashes when pressing ESC !
    I don't know what to do !

    thank you for your help !
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2022
  20. Chastria

    Chastria New Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    after some investigation it has to do with the csl dd... don't get the solution yet !
     

Share This Page