1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMS1 working in VR

Discussion in 'Automobilista - General Discussion' started by mr_belowski, Nov 29, 2020.

  1. DaVeX

    DaVeX AMSUnofficial Staff Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,745
    Likes Received:
    872
    Maybe with your (and the others guys involved) help/guidance our beloved @Retrolux could port the latest features in AMS too?
    Would be great and really appreciated by the community...
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. Balrog

    Balrog Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    45
    Oh, I forgot to answer to this: I found a great workaround for that which was suggested to me by @The Iron Wolf : It's possible to use (or even create your own) SimHub overlays and show them in VR with CrewChief's SteamVR overlay feature. I found a very compact overlay for VR which is linked in the description of this video, basically it works great with both rFactor 2 and Automobilista (or any other sim for that matter) and it can be placed and scaled however you want. Just a quick showcase in AMS:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Balrog

    Balrog Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    45
    I was using the OpenVR plugin as well, until someone pointed out to me that it creates a slightly distorted image from my Index and from that point I couldn't unsee it either.:D So I found another alternative, which is SteamVR's built-in VR View (it can be enabled or disabled via the SteamVR menu), the feature set is similar to the plugin, the left or right eye is selectable (it even has this sort of experimental "both eyes" feature, but unfortunately the output can be very unpleasant depending on the car, so I abandoned it after a little experimenting), the only downside is that the recorded frame is not adjustable, but the FOV is correctly calculated in return.:)
     
  4. Retrolux

    Retrolux Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    76
    @Balrog
    For the hud overlays I am also using simhub dashboards and add them directly in StreamVR itself as floating desktop windows (recent update has added that feature). Do you know if the CC overlays are stored per game and automatically positioned where they where before based on the window title?

    As for the streaming the OpenVR plugin is the best i could find in terms of performance and resolution as it picks directly the texture from one of the eyes. Having an Index myself i dont notice any distracting distortion actually. You need to crop into the view to match the center of your view and which reduces the FOV distortion. Using the SteamVR mirror has a two lower resolution for me as it copys one eye into a smaller window.

    You can see the steamVR overlay dashboards here and the resolution using 100% SteamVR resultion only:
     
  5. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just wanted to tell you guys, that unlike SVR, CC VR overlays allow keyboard toggle on off. In sim racing, not everyone uses controllers, so I added this keyboard wiring etc. And, as far as "per game", SimHub remembers games, but I don't play that many different to tell how convenient that is (I only used SH Motec in RBR, otherwise I just use ShakeIt capability and no UI).

    Big kudos for CC overlays to Morten who implemented overlays in CC (I was just fixing bugs and polishing it all). My rig has no monitor and getting to desktop in VR with a key press is amazing as is not begging Valve to do things and getting ignored. This is such a successful feature, that it made me use CC even with games that CC does not support, just the convenient overlay capability.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2022
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Sparten

    Sparten New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    19
    There is 1 HUGE factor that makes porting GTR2 improvements to AMS much much harder, and that is real time debugging, there is nothing in GTR2 that prevents this, but in AMS only static analysis of the executable is possible(its packed and protected) so setting brake points is not possible on the retail version, it might not sound like a big deal but trust me it is.
     
    • Informative Informative x 4

Share This Page