1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Information for Customizing AI drivers in AMS2 V1.3

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - General Discussion' started by gian, Nov 19, 2021.

  1. Romeo Foxtrot

    Romeo Foxtrot Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    53
    If you have ONE livery_name spelled incorrectly the whole class will be made up of random and custom drivers. There's most likely a spelling error in one of the CLKs in your XML file.

    I've attached one that works.
     

    Attached Files:

    • GT1.xml
      File size:
      1.9 KB
      Views:
      26
  2. jamespoly86

    jamespoly86 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    17
    Is it possible to add AI mandatory pit stop lap ?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. br1x92

    br1x92 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2021
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    20
    Thanks for your effort, I should have also mentioned I am using custom liveries.
    Will have to double check everything again to see if there is an error hidden somewhere.
     
  4. gian

    gian Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2020
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    83
    Yes its applied to all cars by default (except karts), even if you dont override the mistake parameters. The value for default drivers of the mistake params is currently in between 0.4 and 0.7.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. Eric Rowland

    Eric Rowland Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    214
  6. Romeo Foxtrot

    Romeo Foxtrot Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    53
    I've done them for every class/series. Are you having difficulty getting one to work?
     
  7. jusk

    jusk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2022
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    25
    I have a WIP file - collaborating with gringohairpiece to add it to the skinpack in due course :)
    m1.JPG
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2022
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. TekNeil

    TekNeil Take me back to the 2.4l, twin 50 weber days...

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    229
    @jusk Just an FYI, but #1 'Frank Styner' is spelt incorrectly. Surname should be 'Sytner'. A lot of websites have his surname wrong.:)
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2022
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  9. jusk

    jusk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2022
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    25
    Thank you! - will amend :)

    (someone needs to go update the 1979 BMW M1 Procar Championship page on wikipedia o_O)
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2022
    • Like Like x 1
  10. David Roehrich

    David Roehrich New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2022
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So Nice! Do I have to input driver names or is there a way to use the default names that the game assigns?
     
  11. Tarmac Terrorist

    Tarmac Terrorist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2020
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    537
    Ok sorry if this has already been asked, but my first time in here, thankyou to anyone that can help.

    So, the reason im in here is because some of the car class'es are super slow in the wet compared to their dry driving (especially in the release candidate as the tire physics have changed again, but I guess the A.I. have not been calibrated for that yet.

    The best dry and wet behaviour is now with the F3's, I'm about as fast in the wet with them as I am with them in the dry. This was similar for the GT3's until the release candidate as now im fine with them in the dry but when it gets wet now their skill level drops and I can just zoom past them, so what I want is for them to be more like the F3's (only in tersm of wet skill level, nothing else).

    So what I thought I could do is find andopen the original talent file for the F3's so I can see what they are set to, and just copy over the wet skill level to the other class'es, but I cannot find any XML talent files within the game files. Does anyone know where to find the games stock A.I. talent files. Again, thanks for any help!
     
  12. Tarmac Terrorist

    Tarmac Terrorist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2020
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    537
    P.S. im not using any custom liveries or anything like that, just wanna edit wet skill. Ta!
     
  13. Tarmac Terrorist

    Tarmac Terrorist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2020
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    537
    P.P.S. I should probably mention that I have no experience with XML files, but i know they can be editied with a text editor like notepad, however i've no idea how to create one from scratch
     
  14. br1x92

    br1x92 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2021
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    20
    AFAIK the values for the standard drivers are not saved anywhere locally.

    What you could do is just use the AI generator @Harry H posted here, add in the drivers and adjust the wet skill to your liking, as any value you don't specify will be picked from the original AI drivers value (as explained in the first post of this thread). You won't even need to edit any xml files.
     
  15. Harry H

    Harry H Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2020
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    129
    you have to input names and then generate the .xml file
     
  16. Harry H

    Harry H Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2020
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    129
    The default in-game AI values are hard coded. You could create a small custom GT3 grid with custom names and experiment with the wet skill level values to see if you can get a match to your pace. For all the other parameters you'd need to enter 'out of range' numbers e.g. 1.1, before you generate the custom .xml file. That would ensure the AI uses the default parameters for everything else but the wet skill.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  17. Harry H

    Harry H Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2020
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    129
    I put together a set of 10 AI for you to test: download and copy this .xml file into your AMS2 user data/custom AI folder. In game, set up your race for 10 identical opponents and choose McLaren #94 for yourself. The AI have wet weather skills ranging from 1.0 to .01. All other parameters should be default. See which AI you end up racing closest with in the wet.
     

    Attached Files:

    • GT3.xml
      File size:
      7.1 KB
      Views:
      23
    • Like Like x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  18. Tarmac Terrorist

    Tarmac Terrorist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2020
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    537
    Mate thankyou so much! I will endeavour to try this out asap! Got a busy couple of days ahead but, sure I'll be able to find and hour here and there to have a go, and will get back to you with results, this is amazing! I can edit the wet values for all drivers based on the driver who is closest to my ability in the wet aswell, but I don't think I'll be quite up to Freds standard:D.

    This is truely great stuff I can't tell you how excited I am, thankyou & Bravo mate!!!!
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  19. Tarmac Terrorist

    Tarmac Terrorist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2020
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    537
    Mate, gotta say, at least one of the jobs I had planned for today has'nt got done and im blaming you you brilliant fella you! Been mucking about with the file for quite a while now, edited it to work with other class'es and have made a few discoveries, you've given me alot to adjust!

    Although im finding there are obviously some hard coded issues & values with certain A.I. that you just can't get round with editing, for instance the GT3's are just too damn slow now in general, obviously slower on 0.0 Race skill, but even at 1.0 its not enough. At 120 A.I. skill with no practice and default setup, you can stay infront of them at most tracks. With a decent setup and plenty of practice they'd just be useless as competition. F3's on the other hand, absoloutely great! Can get a decent race with them at 95 A.I. skill, which means theres loads of room for me to improve with practice and setups, so i've got plenty of headroom to knock that skill slider up and probably never run out of decent competition!

    Thanks so much! Will get back to you after i've had more time for proper in depth testing!
     
    • Like Like x 3
  20. Aza340

    Aza340 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    70
    Hi . Would you consider making a video on how to set-up the custom AI ? It's beyond me atm lol .
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 1

Share This Page