1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

System requirements

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - General Discussion' started by the202, Jun 3, 2019.

  1. the202

    the202 Group C Fan Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello. I would like to know how the system requirements are likely to compare to Project Cars 2 please.
    I know it is early and you are not likely to know much but I would just like an estimate.
    Here are my system specs for comparison:
    CPU: AMD FX-8350 8-core at 4GHz
    GPU: Nvidia GTX960
    RAM: 16GB DDR3
    Resolution 1920x1080
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Dave Stephenson

    Dave Stephenson Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    424
    There may be gains and losses in specific areas but we expect them to be similar overall. Of course as you say we're too early in development to carve anything in stone.
     
  3. hotak

    hotak New Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    8
    I think you're ok, you may lokk for a CPU upgrade in the future but it should be enough if the requirements are similar to pcars2
     
  4. FS7

    FS7 Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2016
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    128
    I know it's early to confirm system requirements, but when we get closer to release date my suggestion would be to have a list of system requirements in 3 tiers: minimum requirements, recommended requirements to run at 1080p60fps on high settings, and recommended requirements to run at 4K60fps on ultra and/or VR.
     
  5. SlowPoke80

    SlowPoke80 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    15
    I installed the PC2 demo to get a general idea of what to expect. My specs are below the minimum for it and AMS2. I have a 2-gig R9 360, 3.5 gig FX 7700K, and 8 gigs of RAM. With all settings at minimum (except for low SMAA) at 1080, I was able to get an average of 45 FPS when doing the FR 3.5 race against 15 opponents.

    There was no option to reduce the AI number. Do you fellows with PC2 think I could pull an average near 60 FPS with about 6 or 8 AI?

    How important is RAM to performance? Although my CPU and GPU are the bottlenecks, would going from 8 to 16 gigs help noticeably? That would be my cheapest upgrade.
     
  6. FeltHat

    FeltHat Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    157
    whats your ram usage while in the game?
     
  7. SlowPoke80

    SlowPoke80 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    15
    I didn't know there was an option to display that. But I should have! What's the hotkey? Hopping in the shower now; I'll test when I get out.
     
  8. FeltHat

    FeltHat Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    157
    no idea, but probably there is some
    i rather meant something like windows resource/performance monitor (like the one in windows task manager)
     
  9. SlowPoke80

    SlowPoke80 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    15
    Looks like more ram won't help. Hopefully cutting back on AI will to some degree.

    It still runs much better than ACC, despite the fact that that game has lower official requirements.
     
  10. the202

    the202 Group C Fan Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone!
     
  11. Heitor Facuri Cicoti

    Heitor Facuri Cicoti Good Member Staff Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    441
    @SlowPoke80, a powerful thing to do is to reduce the resolution. But, of course, only if you don't mind a bit less eye candy, like me.
     
  12. SlowPoke80

    SlowPoke80 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    15
    That's what I tried first. But the jaggies were so bad I had to use a lot of AA. Less AA at 1080 looked and ran better.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1

Share This Page