Does better sim racing equipment equal better lap times?

Discussion in 'Automobilista - General Discussion' started by Sando75, Apr 17, 2017.

1. Sando75

Sando75 New Member

Just wanted to say this time trial challenge is an absolute blast. It's a great concept and brings the community together. Well done Reiza, you've done a great job:)

I'm just a casual racer, but was wondering if better sim equipment = better lap times? I have a Logitech G25, in a Pagnian Import steel race cockpit, with a single flat screen TV. I am using some of the setups the top guys are getting, but am still about 3 full seconds off the top times on the Velo Park track.

Now I 100% know that I have a lot to learn, and I'm just an amateur driver, but if I were to have a better wheel/pedal combo, will this help me drive noticeably better?

2. Kostis Vigos

Kostis Vigos Active Member AMS2 Club Member

3. Gringo

Gringo Well-Known Member Staff Member AMS2 Club Member

I agree with Kostis. Your controller and computer hardware is a part of your lap time for sure. That said the returns diminish very quickly regarding really expensive gear. Building a comfortable, stable cockpit that puts you in a good position to your wheel, peddles and display is just as important as good quality controllers.

4. Dean Ogurek

Dean Ogurek "Love the Simulation You're Dreaming In." AMS2 Club Member

In general and for the average player, better gear can help you to be a bit faster but, the gains may be minimal. Where it can really make the bigger difference tends to be in overall consistency - especially with load-cell / pressure-based braking and Direct-drive steering systems.

If lap-times are what matters most, then the mid-range hardware is probably going to do a good job of offering good performance / immersion at it's price point.

For maximum immersion, the high-end gear yields big benefits but, comes at much higher cost.

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Ethan Dean

Ethan Dean Hotlap Masochist