About tires

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - General Discussion' started by Wuffels, Dec 13, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Wuffels

Wuffels New Member

Hi,

I started playing AMS2 a lot since a few weeks, and having a blast doing so. I have the most fun with the Formula Reiza cars and some other open wheelers. But I have a few questions about how the tires work:

1. I'm trying the follow the rule of I/M/O temp difference of ~5-10°C on front and ~3-5°C on rear. For me it takes almost always maximum camber or sometimes isn't even reachable. Am I even following the right rules for those open wheelers?

2. On Formula Reiza Cars, every dry tire looks like soft compound, feels like soft compound and wears like soft compound. I don't have differences in laptime and lifetime. Is there a bug or is it me? Few weeks ago, when I tried Ultimate Gen2, I could feel a big difference between tire compounds. But meanwhile, I don't feel a difference between them, too, even tho at least they look different (red, yellow, white)

Edit: Posted this in the wrong section. Should belong to "Automobilista 2 - General Discussion"

Last edited: Dec 13, 2022
  2. Jugulador

Jugulador Well-Known Member

I have a question of my own:

On classic F1 cars that use the nomenclature "CDE" (or any other letter... can't remember exactly), what is the harder and softer tire compound?

Actually I don't care anymore about this rule and use to change the camber to help with the car behavior overall or at a specific critical sector or corner. The only thing that I care is to set the tire pressure in a way that the M is half way from I to O when the tires are warmed.

3. Wuffels

Wuffels New Member

First, thank you for your reply.
    I haven't tested the tires of Formula Classic cars yet, but as far as I know they are "BCD", where D is the softest.