Grass. I just don't understand it. Help.

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - General Discussion' started by Squirrel_SA, Apr 4, 2024.

1. Squirrel_SA

Squirrel_SA New Member

I'm new to AMS2 from ACC/AC mostly - some experience in iRacing. I've discovered AMS2 because I switched to VR from single screen last month and AMS2 does VR really well (it's crazy how good it is in VR). Like all sims, it has its own physics and driving quirks, which I'm fine with but I don't understand the grass. Gravel seems fine, but when I got off track on grass in AMS2 compared to other sims, I'm basically out of the race. Even on dry days, the grass is SO SLIPPERY - it's worse than iRacing 2 years ago. It's entirely possible this is a skill issue - am I missing something? In AC/ACC, if I end up in the grass, I usually get out in a couple of seconds with low throttle in 2nd gear. iRacing is even better now; you can feather the throttle to get the nose around and then low throttle out to the tarmac. In AMS2 it's like being on ice. How do I manage grass?

e; yes not going in the grass has occurred to me. Alas that's not a 100% solution just yet :p

Last edited: Apr 4, 2024
    • Agree Agree x 7
  2. Racinglegend1234

Racinglegend1234 AMS2 wiki founder AMS2 Club Member

Can you name a track which this happens?

3. Squirrel_SA

Squirrel_SA New Member

Been on several tracks but the two that happened recently were on Brands Hatch in the FWD Mini when I overcooked it into both Hawthorn and Westfield and also on SPA in GT4s running wide on 8, or 12 - 14. That's just in the last couple laps I've done, I've also had grass issues on the Nordschliefe and elsewhere. In a variety of cars. It's mostly when I run wide and end up in grass it takes like 8 - 10 seconds to get out vs. 3 - 4 in other sims. I'm just struggling with how the grass in AMS2 works I guess. I'm ok with it being a skill issue, just a bummer to go from P3 to P11 cause I can't get back on track in <11s.

Last edited: Apr 4, 2024