Modding resources and documentation.

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - Modding' started by jota.191, Aug 24, 2023.

Tags:
  1. jota.191

jota.191 (I'm Lando Garlando in AMS2 lobbies) AMS2 Club Member

Can we please have documentation of what do hex files contain? Or at least an official statement from the staff on why that is not doable/desirable.

Context: I have never modded any sim, I entered the simracing world 3 years ago and I haven't had the time. I dedicated some time to learn how it works in AMS2 in the past days and while I have many things to learn, I get what must be done. (btw I am a computer scientist working in compilers, so it is not the first time I run emacs in hexl-mode to understand what is going on).

Given my background it is very tempting to make my own compiler to generate the hex files from plain text. This would be doable after some hours of development but there is a catch: There are some chunks of the hex files that apparently anybody knows what they do.

So my question in the first paragraph. I could understand if Reiza does not want us to interpret the binaries, but since they are not encrypted, and Reiza endorse modding, apparently they are ok with that. The reason could be they don't have the time to document things, it is ok. In that case we should do it as a community. Perhaps a thread here could be a start.

Edit: I start. Here AMS2 modding docs is the best resource I know. Any other documentation is welcomed.

• Like Like x 5
  2. Racinglegend1234

Racinglegend1234 AMS2 wiki founder AMS2 Club Member

Any addition of modding info to the wiki is appreciated. I personally don’t know how to mod, but those who can could maybe post some things to the wiki

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. jota.191

That is definitely a good place to collect the information, I thought about it already :). But we need to gather the information first. Any insights are welcome.

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. gvse

gvse Active Member AMS2 Club Member