1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Automobilista 2 April 2021 Development Update

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - News & Announcements' started by Renato Simioni, May 2, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bmerrell

bmerrell Member

I've been sim-racing for about twenty years. Until last year, 99% of my time was spent in single-player modes. I didn't even race against AI; I only really enjoyed hot-lapping and trying to tweak qualifying setups. I absolutely acknowledge the importance of providing a good single-player experience, and I think we're close to reaching that goal. For those who are primarily interested in hot-lapping, the game is already fantastic and will be even more satisfying now that the physics updates are settling down and I won't need to keep throwing away setups. For those who focus on single-player racing, I assume the custom championship feature and continued improvements to the AI will take the game to a very satisfying state. (Content releases---particularly new tracks---are always welcome, but these affect single-player and multi-player equally.)

AMS2 was one of the first times when I thought the physics were a close enough approximation to real life that racing online would be an enjoyable experience. (I did a bit of online racing in Live for Speed around 15 years ago for the same reason---the physics were good enough that people could drive consistently and there no obvious benefits to driving in unrealistic ways. I've also dabbled in iRacing, but I find the tire model unrealistically knife-edge and therefore frustrating for close multiplayer racing.) In the past year, I've participated in a league for the first time and have had a blast doing weekend races against a group of clean, dedicated friends. AMS2 offers an excellent driving experience online when the servers are sufficiently populated.