Automobilista 2 V1.5 Physics Development Update

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - News & Announcements' started by Renato Simioni, Jul 25, 2023.

1. MonkeyChops1984

MonkeyChops1984 New Member

Nils is absolutely spot on.

I am a VR driver so have been desperate for AMS 2 to become the one stop shop SIM for all of my needs. My history with it goes back to buying then refunding one of the earlier versions of the game. Whilst I agree with Nils on the flaws of 1.5, it is without doubt in a better state than ever before, and for the first time I can race without the constant nagging feeling that I need a fix of rfactor 2 of AC to remind myself of what a more "natural" driving experience feels like.

We may now have reached the limits of what the madness engine is capable of (within the limited resources of Reiza). What I really hope for is that all attention is put to implementing a scheduled, ranked competitive mode. It is fairly obvious that this is what brings the masses to a sim, more so than more content!

• Disagree Disagree x 5
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  2. Mhad

Mhad Active Member AMS2 Club Member

I think that is part of the conversation.

I think there are 2 main reasons to not overdrive the cars (especially ones that should be snappy like formula cars).

1 - you go over the limit once, the car snaps and you can't recover.
    2 - you go over the limit consistently but manage it, over time you overheat/damage the tyres and then spin and can't recover.

I think AMS2 does the second one well at the moment in those longer races. It doesn't quite have the first one though.

• Like Like x 1
  3. CrimsonEminence

CrimsonEminence Administrator Staff Member AMS2 Club Member

Taking this example - it's the kind of assumption that is not accurate, there is a lot of stuff to be still possible in the future not only in tuning the limits and performance but also the featureset. Like mentioned, things aren't stopping after 1.5 :)