1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMS1 working in VR

Discussion in 'Automobilista - General Discussion' started by mr_belowski, Nov 29, 2020.

  1. DaVeX

    DaVeX AMSUnofficial Staff Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    719
    Pretty sure they will be back on it once settled with AMS2 updates. They are pushing hard on those since December but they will be back to you for sure (as they will be back to rF2 pack too).

    ...if only we could have cockpit shadows too...
     
  2. Stanj2

    Stanj2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I am at my wits end on this. It works in VR intermittently. When it works it works great and I can drive for hours on different cars and tracks. Then I come back later and as soon as I hit the > button to get into my car after the track loading screen finishes I get a pause of several seconds and am spit back to the steam vr homescreen. I have verified files, tried different nvidia drivers from latest to earlier versions, configured graphic options ad nauseum, etc, reinstalled and read every post I can. I can't find a reliable method or fix to get it to run consistently. I have an RTX 2060, Odyssey +, I7-6700K, win 10 with latest updates, NVME drives and SSD drives no HDD's, Fanatec wheel GT3 RS, Thrustmaster load cell pedals and everything works in all other sims in VR, even GTR2 VR. Any ideas would be appreciated
     
  3. Bjarne Hansen

    Bjarne Hansen New Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    Since I have no issues I can only suggest some general fault finding.
    Can you run the same track and cars combo on monitor?
    You can try adding -trace=100 to the start up option like ams.exe -trace=100
    the last 1-2 lines will have the display the problem if it is a AMS issue.
     
  4. jamespoly86

    jamespoly86 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    I tried to install but when i start the race I see only the wide 2d display and not the vr.
    I install in the folder the files. Windowed and Windowswidescreen ok CrewChiefVR.ini with enableSteamVRRendering = 1, in game config settings modified.
    I have oculus quest 2, have you any suggestions?
     
  5. Stan Johnson

    Stan Johnson New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks Bjarne for the suggestion, I will enable the logging to see what I can find. I have found that the problem is my Fanatec GT3 RS V2 wheel. The wheel calibrates fine in AMS, even the Vr re-centering in the menu works since remapping the key with Joy to key and has worked excellently in Vr with AMS previously and is still working with all my other sims. The crash occurs on trying to enter the car after track loading. If I disconnect the wheel AMS starts in Vr and the car will load and can be driven by the AI just fine. Event viewer in Win 10 will show AMS faulting with Ntdll or D3d9.dll however with the wheel connected. I have cycled through the various FFB settings, ie pure +1 , 180 hz etc to no avail. I have also tried the latest Fanatec drivers and 3 of their earlier versions same result. I'm looking for any USB or IRQ conflict or resource conflicts currently. I'm sure there is a solution. It is an interesting issue I've never seen before, I might dig out my Logitech Force GT and see what happens
     
  6. M.Guenette

    M.Guenette Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Jamespoly86 Try this Method
     
  7. jamespoly86

    jamespoly86 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    I tried but I see only cinema 2d mode... If someone have oculus quest 2 please write the procedure to view vr
     
  8. mr_belowski

    mr_belowski Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    164
    Not sure if it's already been mentioned, but did you untick the "Use desktop game threatre while SteamVR is active" option?
     
  9. jamespoly86

    jamespoly86 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    I set cockpit cam and vr finally start! :)
     
  10. mr_belowski

    mr_belowski Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    164
    ah yes, this is only implemented for cockpit cam. I think there's a note about that floating around somewhere :)
     
  11. jamespoly86

    jamespoly86 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    Is it normal that after race menu keys don't function? And the esc key don't function? I tried two different resolutions 1680 x 1050 or 800 x 600...
     
  12. mr_belowski

    mr_belowski Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    164
    do you have the "Exit confirmation menu" option in the game set to false? There's an issue with the rendering of the exit confirm menu that stops it working
     
  13. Bazmeister

    Bazmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firstly, I'd like to thank and congratulate all involved for implementing VR in AMS1. It is truly awesome seeing this game through VR lenses.

    Unfortunately AMS1 in VR gives me motion sickness. I don't have this issue with other racing sims like AMS2 or RaceRoom. I'm using an Oculus Rift S. Is there anything I can do to make the experience a bit more pleasant?
     
  14. keith windsor

    keith windsor Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    199
    If you haven't already done it, in display options, set Head movement to 0 ; Look to Apex to 0 ; Exaggerate Yaw to 0 ; Lock to horizon to 100%.
    This works well for me in VR, and I was always prone to motion sickness in AMS1 on flat screen if I didn't use the RealHeadMotion plugin.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Retrolux

    Retrolux Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    63
    @Sparten: If you coding support for the VR plugin, let me know. The source link you posted is not available. But you can send me an invite to it if you want. Retrolux ยท GitLab

    Here a video for the menu transparency issue I reported earlier.
    Sequence 03.gif

    It might be caused that the initial orientation is rotated by 180 degree before going into AMS? I just managed to get it working one time that the crewchief logo was not behind the virtual screen and then it looked good.
     
  16. jamespoly86

    jamespoly86 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    9
    I tried yesterday with exit confermation menu set to off... I don't find false.. when I return from race only x in left top works...

    Excuse me now VR function, thanks for the amazing work...
    james
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2021 at 9:38 AM

Share This Page