AMS2 Dedicated Server Tool / SteamCMD Support

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - General Discussion' started by Dave Stephenson, May 29, 2020.

  1. roszman

    roszman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    419
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2022
  2. roszman

    roszman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    419
    Code:
    {
              "name" : "MinimumOnlineStrength",
              "type" : "int32",
              "access" : "ReadWrite",
              "description" : "Minimum online strength. Valid values are in range from 100 to 5000."
            }
    
    What is MinimumOnlineStrength?
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2022
  3. roszman

    roszman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    419
    also there is a mistake in /api/list/enums

    Code:
    "livetrack_preset" : {
          "description" : "Enum describing online reputation rank setting",
          "list" : [
     
  4. Roy Niessink

    Roy Niessink Well-Known Member AMS2 Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2020
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    690
    Thats the skill rating, the letters are for safety, and the numbers are the skill in an online server/lobby.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. TechAde

    TechAde New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2020
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    We had some strange goings on trying to run a league race last night. We use sportsplay to get around the problem of the server not appearing in the list for some people (in case it's relevant).

    I started the Dedi Server then connected from my gaming rig without an issue, the problem was that nobody else could connect. The issue seemed to be something to do with the client not knowing which cars were available for selection and would offer the client the choice of all cars but then never let them join (no join button would appear), and then after a few seconds they would get disconnected.

    Eventually a few people managed to get in after a few restarts of the server but then I was stuck getting the problem and couldn't join. In the end we had to postpone the race.

    Then Steam decided that I needed to purchase the AMS2 Dedi Server and would automatically shut it down after 4 minutes of me starting AMS2 on the sim rig PC. This has never happened before even though I've been running the same configuration for months. I don't think the Dedi Server is even available to purchase on Steam, is it? (The two PCs share my main steam Library under 2 Steam accounts).

    Today I've moved the Dedi Server installation to my main sim rig and thought I'd have a go at running Dedi & Client on the same PC.

    I've haven't got as far as firing up AMS2 yet because the Dedi Server is getting slammed with connection packets from all sorts of IP addresses, 2, 3 or even 4 times a second.

    The Dedi Server window looks like this:
    upload_2022-1-31_16-33-22.png

    Loading WireShark shows loads of traffic coming in on port 27105:
    upload_2022-1-31_16-34-6.png

    Anybody know what's going on here, why is the Dedi Server receiving so many packets from random IP addresses all over the internet?
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. Roy Niessink

    Roy Niessink Well-Known Member AMS2 Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2020
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    690
    Strange issues, and the dedi server is free, what i would do is try to use different ports, you can change them in your server.cfg, remember that the link people use to join will be different then, but just to test if that still occurs, the 27105 port is a generic one, whih might have issues caused by steam.

    we did a league test race a couple days ago using the sportsplay, and had no issues with people not able to join.
     
  7. TechAde

    TechAde New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2020
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks Roy, I did wonder about changing ports, I'll give that a try and see if anything changes.

    Edit: Just changing the hostPort to 27017 seems to have stopped all the spurious info request packets and I can still join with sportsplay. Will try to give it a proper test later with more than just me connecting - as that worked fine last night, if I connected first all was good, just nobody else could connect.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2022
  8. Roy Niessink

    Roy Niessink Well-Known Member AMS2 Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2020
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    690
    yeah if the ports are used somehow by something else that could explain others not able to join properly
     
  9. TechAde

    TechAde New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2020
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Weird how it's worked fine up until last night though, I wonder what changed?

    It's also weird about the Steam Library Sharing thing, it just won't let me run AMS2 on the main rig and the Dedi on a 2nd PC at the same time now (at least, it gives me a 5 minute warning). Never seen that before last night either.
     
  10. Roy Niessink

    Roy Niessink Well-Known Member AMS2 Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2020
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    690
    are you starting the dedi from within steam?
     
  11. TechAde

    TechAde New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2020
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    No, I just run the exe.
     
  12. Roy Niessink

    Roy Niessink Well-Known Member AMS2 Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2020
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    690
    maybe if u set the steam running the dedi to offline it works, i never had that issue, but im not sharing the library
     
  13. TechAde

    TechAde New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2020
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks, I'll give that a try. It's very strange indeed, I've been running like this for months and months without any such issue but suddenly it doesn't want to let me. It's odd how it even gives me a 'Purchase' button for the AMS2 Dedi but when I click it just takes me to the generic store page with no option to purchase the Dedi.
     
  14. Roy Niessink

    Roy Niessink Well-Known Member AMS2 Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2020
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    690
    yeah that must just be a steam flaw or something, i never had that as well
     
  15. TechAde

    TechAde New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2020
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah, it's an odd one for sure.

    Thanks though, putting Steam into offline mode seems to work a treat. Steam itself then still gives me the Purchase option for the Dedi, but if I run it manually it all seems to work, I can connect to it from the main rig no problem at all. Let's just hope everybody else can connect too.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Nico Schuk

    Nico Schuk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi,
    where do I find the option "Pit stop refuelling allowed" in the config.cfg?

    We need this for default setup races when we ran out of fuel. The actual default value must be "NO" (not allowed) because we couldn't fuel up, but it has to be "YES".
    Our server does not controlGameSetup (value is false). We would like to set the value of Pit-stop refulling allowed to YES (true) by default in the config.cfg.
    upload_2022-2-2_13-28-27.png

    We just found the setting DisablePitstopRefuelling = 0 in the file. But this is not the exact option.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2022
  17. Andy

    Andy Active Member AMS2 Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2020
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    27
    Im pretty sure its bugged.
    Sometimes you can set it enabled, and sure enough you get in the server and its disabled.
     
  18. Bo Stamper

    Bo Stamper Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    Updated the dedi executable from yesterday, but now launching the server gives me "Unknown config variable 'upnp', or the variable has invalid type" Look familiar to anyone?
     
  19. Roy Niessink

    Roy Niessink Well-Known Member AMS2 Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2020
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    690
    Are you using just the dedi, or a external config, only time i saw a upnp thing was when the emperor server manager had it enabled.

    Dont have any issues since the update, other then that the road america with the bend layout is not in the server yet
     
  20. Bo Stamper

    Bo Stamper Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    Either would be nice. Right now, I'm just trying to get it run, period. Whenever I rename the server.cfg, it still throws up that upnp error even if I don't touch the Emperor interface.

    UPDATE: Looks like it's running ok and working with the Emperor interface, but it's not showing in the server list.

    UPDATE: Restarted and now it's back to the upnp error again! LOL! Thank you very much for your assistance, Roy, but even when the multiplayer does indeed work, it's still a mess.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2022

Share This Page