1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMS2: The ‘Not-a-Priority Things to Fix’ List

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - General Discussion' started by GregzVR, Apr 2, 2020.

Tags:
  1. GregzVR

    GregzVR Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2020
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    174
    Visible tyre branding for the Formula V12 and Formula V10 G1 cars.
    Good Year & Bridgestone are already present on the Formula Classic and Formula V10 G2 cars respectively, so I don't see why one(or both) of them can't also be added to the aforementioned cars as well.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  2. GregzVR

    GregzVR Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2020
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    174
    Another one is to possibly have the 'minimal' instrument gauge on the HUD to also be able to be stacked horizontally, instruments_hud.jpg
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 4
  3. Coanda

    Coanda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    253
    +1 and remove DRS and ERS/P2P for vehicles that don't have this..

    or ideally separate the widgets to something like..

    - Engine
    - Electronics
    - Tyres
    - Fuel
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2020
    • Agree Agree x 6
  4. alink

    alink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    456
    1.) On several cars with sequential gearbox a gear indicator is missing.
    2.) On the dashboard, speed units are mixed between kph and mph depending on car (i.e. Classic G3 uses mph). This should be variable and be setted through UI.
    3.) The same for temperature, mostly on the dash it is in °C but on some cars / especially trucks it is in °F.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Marc Collins

    Marc Collins Well-Known Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,868
    Likes Received:
    1,442
    Many older race cars come from England... Some others use Imperial/US measurement for some various reason. Some modern ones have a toggle between Imperial and metric, but the toggle is not implemented in AMS 2. The HUD should always reflect our choices, though.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. alink

    alink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    456
    Right of course, but IRL I would stick kph or °C stickers on the dashboard or glass (for analoge gauges) or reprogramme the value output of a digital dash with calculated values in kph/°C/kPa (or for those of us who wants to have in US, then in mph/°F/PSI).
    Of course, I appriciate if Reiza needs some time because all the shown values have to made to be variable so that it is possible to display different units.Thats why 'Not-a-Priority Things to Fix'.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. fischhaltefolie

    fischhaltefolie Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    127
    In a lot of singelseaters your backside is visible under the car.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Dean Ogurek

    Dean Ogurek Well-Known Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    334
    I believe that's sometimes referred to as having a bad case of "drag-ass". :D
     
    • Funny Funny x 4
  9. GregzVR

    GregzVR Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2020
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    174
    Also, in basically all of them, the driver’s legs lie flat, when the drivers knees need to be raised up a lot. You only really notice this in VR.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  10. eg01st

    eg01st Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2020
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    37
    About replays - is there an option or ini/json to increase the replay length? So it goes over 2 minutes for test sessions. And clickable timeline would be nice.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. F1Aussie

    F1Aussie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    98
    Don't know if anyone else is experiencing it but I am noticing that the brakes are still locking up very easily, even under partial braking and with abs on high with default brake setup. I don't think it should be like this.
     
  12. Marc Collins

    Marc Collins Well-Known Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,868
    Likes Received:
    1,442
    Yes, but only on certain cars, so it's not a systemic issue.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. GregzVR

    GregzVR Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2020
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    174
    This one really is low priority, but I was having this thought whilst lying in bed, and I thought I’d better write it down lol...
    Instead of calling giving the Formula cars names like ‘Vintage’ ‘Retro’ and ‘Classic’, they should all be given a year designation instead.

    For example, Formula Vintage Gen1 would simply be called Formula ‘67.
    The rest could be as follows:
    Formula Vintage Gen2 = Formula ‘69o_O
    Formula Retro = Formula ‘75
    Formula Classic Gen1 = Formula ‘86
    Formula Classic Gen2 = Formula ‘88
    Formula Classic Gen3 = Formula ‘91
    Formula V12 = Formula ‘95
    Formula V10 Gen1 = Formula ‘97
    Formula V10 Gen2 = Formula 2000
    Formula Reiza = Formula 2011
    Formula Ultimate = Formula 2018

    I think using a year adds more clarity as to the hierarchy.
    It also adds room for a possible Formula ‘80, peak ground effect era series, if Reiza ever decide to do that, as a lot of the tracks would be compatible.

    Okay, I need to get to bed, lol.o_O:D
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2020
    • Agree Agree x 7
    • Like Like x 3
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  14. jmac_the_man

    jmac_the_man New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    This is a great idea for how to handle the F1 cars.

    I'm from the US and I'm only familiar with historic F1 in the vaguest possible sense, so identifying the car classes with years would help make it easier for me to figure out what era tracks the cars are supposed to run on. (Track variants, of course, are identified by years.)

    My only suggestion is that classes of historic cars from other series should get a year designation as well.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Marc Collins

    Marc Collins Well-Known Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,868
    Likes Received:
    1,442
    Great idea, but already rejected years ago by Reiza due to licensing restrictions.
     
  16. Silvano

    Silvano Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    59
    !!! Automatic Engine Start option has no effect, the car always starts automatically when entering it. !!!
    I really want to emphasis this bug that is still here and another one also, its the auto clutch that allways remains ON even when changing it to OFF.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2020
  17. Coanda

    Coanda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    253
    Do you think they are allowed to put the year of the vehicle in the information area of selecion Ui..?
     
  18. F1Aussie

    F1Aussie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    98
    Okay, hope it can get sorted at some stage
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Rodger Davies

    Rodger Davies Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    153
    Worth noting that the Retro is referred to as Formula Retro Gen 1.... ;)

    (And there aren’t too many Brazilian World Champions’ cars to include in your DLC if there’s no Piquet Brabham)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Pacchia

    Pacchia Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    8
    The "you ha e set a new record in this sector" message is too big and distracting..
    If it appears in the middle of a corner, I go off! ;)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1

Share This Page