1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VR Discussions, Questions & Feedback

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - General Discussion' started by Heitor Facuri Cicoti, Apr 5, 2020.

  1. Goffik

    Goffik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    288
    Are you running any supersampling? That kills FPS on most systems. I've done a few wet races vs AI and it's run fine for me. I've noticed some tracks get a bit choppy at times of day when there is a lot of lighting and shadows though, like dusk and dawn.
     
  2. RacingDenzel

    RacingDenzel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi !
    I don't know if it's fixed with the last update but since the begining (EA), there is a disortion in the mirrors in VR (not in the virtual mirror) ... ?
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2020
  3. Timothy Dalton

    Timothy Dalton New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys,

    Is there a way for us to position our seats fowards and back or edit an ini for VR?

    I find the view reset sets my head slightly too far back and i cant correct it by calibrating further back because my seats behind me.

    Secondly regardless of if its enabled i cant see the leaderboard and relative information in VR. Is this a known problem?
     
  4. Goffik

    Goffik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    288
    Controls => Assignments
    Assign controls to Seat Forward/Backward/Up/Down.

    Assign a key to HUD View. Press it while driving to cycle HUD modes. If you still can't see the widgets, pause the game while driving and use the HUD Editor to enable/disable/rearrange/resize the HUD.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Gene

    Gene New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Any way to have the TC and ABS setting messages pop up in VR when switching between off/low/high without having the HUD enabled?
     
  6. InfernalVortex

    InfernalVortex Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    166
    I dont know about you, but for my install it defaulted to the WASD keys. I can use those to go forward and back and up and down, and I usually need to whenever I jump in a new car. It seems to save the settings after you set it once.
     
  7. InfernalVortex

    InfernalVortex Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    166
    supersampling in game is set at “1”, not sure if that’s a yes or a no to that question. MSAA is set to low. I am a newbie to VR so not sure if there’s other places I need to check.

    I’ve got a 2070 Super and a Ryzen 3600 with 32 gigs of ram at 3.2GHz, should this be enough to run with the rain and a full field then? This was at Montreal, for what it’s worth. Not sure if that’s a tougher track to render or not.
     
  8. Gagaryn

    Gagaryn Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2019
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    77
    No - they are part of the HUD. You could edit a HUD view so that no widgets are visible except messages
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Goffik

    Goffik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    288
    In a word, yes. And then some. I have a 1060, Rift S, running a combo of medium and high detail options, and I can run in rain with no issues. AMS 2 is very well optimised for VR so it sounds like you might have some other underlying issue somewhere.

    Supersampling in the game menu set to 1 means you're running default res... no supersampling. However, you can also set supersampling levels independently in most VR headset software. Might be worth checking there (Oculus, SteamVR) to see if this is set to a ridiculously high value by mistake.
     
  10. Kevin39

    Kevin39 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Super Sampling in my game seems to be set at 2, but it doesn’t let me turn it down. Has anyone else seen this?

    Is it because I have it turned up in Steam VR (140%)?

    It looks incredible, but it does get a bit framey during high speed corners.
     
  11. InfernalVortex

    InfernalVortex Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    166
    Well thats a little frustrating then. I set up MSI Afterburner to log performance data, shows GPU at near 100 percent all the time, and CPU much lower. Framerate bounces around between 75-90. Usually the very high 80s, which I am guessing is pretty much the game hitting 90 Hz., but I am sure every time it goes down to 75 it's dropping frames since my headset has a 90Hz refresh rate. Isnt that how it works?

    I dug through a lot of other software looking for rogue super sampling, but I am at a loss.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2020
  12. Supermelon

    Supermelon New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using Valve Index on 120 FPS. AMS2 works amazing on this head set. Couple of settings needed my attentions, both in Nvidia panel and game settings. But after optimizing it for speed, it efficiently feeds 120 frames every seconds even on full grid online racing. AMAZING.
    Way this sim looks and feels at the same time is next level comparing to everything else. Can't wait for more content, leagues etc.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  13. InfernalVortex

    InfernalVortex Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    166
    Any chance you'd care to share which settings? AMS2VRSettings.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2020
  14. Gene

    Gene New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Good idea, I'll give it a try, thanks
     
  15. Aaron Green

    Aaron Green Well-Known Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    245
    Can you even grab your graphics settings? You must be running something that is tanking your FPS. I've got a much more inferior system to you and I'm running buttery smooth and in running 1.3ss in Oculus Debug (game is set to 1.0 - I don't touch that, in game ss settings seen to really hurt my FPS). I'm not forcing ASW either. It has to be graphics settings...
     
  16. Supermelon

    Supermelon New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think efficiency depends on your hardware. I have pretty powerful PC with RTX 2080Ti, still I had to lower down some of the settings.
    Visuals.png
    Performance1.png

    Grass/particles all at medium
    VR supersampling 1.3

    [​IMG]
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
  17. Balrog

    Balrog Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    16
    Maybe it's an AMD thing, I also have a 2070 Super and a Ryzen 3700X and my system also struggles in the rain, my Index switches to half rate no matter how low I set the frequency. And VR performance is pretty inconsistent in general. I often get microlag on some tracks while practicing alone even with motion smoothing on.
     
  18. Gagaryn

    Gagaryn Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2019
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    77
    I think you could bump your settings a bit with your hardware - I have similar hardware and don't have anything on low. That said I run at 90FPS as I don't notice the improvement at 120FPS - I do notice the difference with low reflections and shadow detail though. Curious as to what you changed in Nvidia control panel that improved performance - I've not changed anything as I'm not sure I understand it well enough.
     
  19. Koala63

    Koala63 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2020
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    34
    Greetings. After checking in this thread and the bug report thread and not finding anything helpful I posted up a bug report about a new issue for me. My VR cockpit (driving) view has started to reset to about a meter outside the cockpit after I have a heavy impact with a wall and return to Pit.
    I've been running AMS2 EA in each build since release and other than the hard-lock glitch-out on the wheel, which is well reported, I've had no trouble at all. I'm comfortable with setting up and operating within the sim, so I don't think this is a newbie problem (hopefully).
    The only way I've been able to find so far to fix this glitch is to delete my entire AMS2 settings folder and start again. However after having this happen twice in short succession.... I'm getting cheesed!
    Does anybody know exactly where in the VR setting files the centering values are do I can more quickly reset the view position ... BTW - this only happens for me after a heavy crash - I'm wondering if its linked to FFB... Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  20. InfernalVortex

    InfernalVortex Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    166
    • Informative Informative x 1

Share This Page