1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VR Discussions, Questions & Feedback

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - General Discussion' started by Heitor Facuri Cicoti, Apr 5, 2020.

  1. NuScorpii

    NuScorpii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    418
    This is caused by certain HUD elements not scaling / moving in the 2D window when in VR mode to the resolution specified for the 2D window. If you up the resolution in Options > Performance > Resolution when in VR mode and restart then you will see the missing elements appear. If you up it to 4K res then the tyre status element appears mid screen. (i.e. Still a bug that needs fixing.)
     
  2. GregzVR

    GregzVR Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2020
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    156
    You can't up the resolution, from the maximum of whatever your monitor resolution is - 1080p in my case.
     
  3. eSTee3

    eSTee3 Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    24
    Although true, there are ways around this, depending on the videocard you have. You can either create "custom" screen resolutions (this is what I do) or enable DSR (super-sampling) within your card's settings. Both of these solutions will almost always allow you to choose them, within all games, even if you only have 1080p monitors.
     
  4. GregzVR

    GregzVR Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2020
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    156
    Cool, thanks, I'll look into that, but the main point is, that this is a bug that needs to be highlighted, as you can't be 100% sure if Reiza (a) know about it, and (b) if they have any plans to fix it at all. They could easily have just assumed the VR part of the Madness Engine comes pre-packaged, with no issues.
    It shouldn't ideally need any work-arounds.

    Edit: Via the NCP, I set DSR to 1.50 and 4.0, but it made no difference when you load the game in VR(Steam and Oculus) it limits itself to the monitor resolution, and the game doesn't allow me to go any higher.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2020
  5. Kaneda06

    Kaneda06 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi !

    with pimax we need activated parallèle projection for not have trouble screen

    But paralell projection mod use many FPS :/

    They have a solution for PC2



    I try make the same pc2 for am2 but problems is impossible to lunch from pitool
    Work Just with steamvr :/
     
  6. RWB.3vil

    RWB.3vil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2020
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    26
    I went in to pcars 2 and played around with the VR UI editor to get hud to a level that seemed useful and exited the game then copied the co ords into AMS2
    The UI is larger and floats flat just past an open wheel cockpit area and only needs a slight glance to see the data in the corners.


    Code:
    <prop name="HUDSettings" offSetX="0.010054" offSetY="0.061950" offSetZ="-0.580263" scale="0.559927" rotateX="-0.017535" rotateY="-0.003423" rotateZ="0.000832" rotateW="0.999840" />
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. Ernie

    Ernie Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    114
    Do you have a screenshot or video with your settings? Just to see how it looks ingame.
     
  8. Goffik

    Goffik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    305
    You can't easily take a screen shot of VR. Just give it a try yourself, if you don't like it you can revert the changes. (You can either backup the file, or just delete it and the game will generate a new one.)
     
  9. Donato

    Donato New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    hello everyone, I'm new, I bought this game recently and I have to congratulate everyone, I was pleasantly impressed by physics and FFB, I come from PC1, PC2, AC, ACC. the only perplexity that remains for me is the shadows in VR, as they were already problematic in PC2 (same engine) also in the distance they create visual artifacts. will there be any improvements? sorry for my english translated by google

    thanks
     
  10. Goffik

    Goffik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    305
    No doubt there will. The shadows are really sharp at the moment and anti-aliasing doesn't seem to have any affect on them whatsoever. Try driving at noon for now as it makes the shadows much smaller.
     
  11. Donato

    Donato New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'll try, thank you.
     
  12. RWB.3vil

    RWB.3vil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2020
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    26
    I dont but if you can try to picture.

    Youre in an F1/open wheel/caterham car , the virtual mirror is a small glance upwards ( if you are on full hud) , the gear and tyre temp icon on the right sort of floats behind and near to where most wing mirrors are and the race positions floats up in the top corner in line with the left mirror.

    Thats using the settings i copy pasted from pcars 2 and into my post
     
  13. TheMattyOnline

    TheMattyOnline Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    35
    @Heitor Facuri Cicoti
    Posting here rather than beta forums, as there is no official VR section there.

    Would it be possible to explore the use of OpenVR HiddenAreaMesh in AMS2/Madness Engine.
    Most sims are now using this to mask the area outside the view of the HMD and can bring decent gains to VR performace.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. Wolfgang Herold

    Wolfgang Herold Well-Known Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    476
    which do you mean with "most sims" ?
     
  15. RWB.3vil

    RWB.3vil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2020
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    26
    Is it something that needs to be enabled via an ini file , or is it part of the current openvr_api.dll and needs enabling somewhere else in game code?

    ValveSoftware/openvr
     
  16. TheMattyOnline

    TheMattyOnline Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    35
    Maybe most sims that i use would be a more accurate statement, but certainly Raceroom Racing Experience, ACC and RF2 all use it. Not sure about AC (possily through shaders patch?)
     
  17. TheMattyOnline

    TheMattyOnline Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    35
    It would need enabling/coding in i assume with the Madness Engine.
    It's built in to UE4 already, hence ACC using it.
     
  18. TheMattyOnline

    TheMattyOnline Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    35
    As an example, this is from Raceroom, with the mask:

    Off:
    rsz_20200112-2145.png

    And on:
    rsz_20200112-2136.png

    In the HMD, you obviously don't see the binoccular effect, as its outside the FOV.
    And the game doesn't need to render and process the part of the scene thats masked and can produce decent frame rate benefits.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2020
    • Informative Informative x 5
    • Winner Winner x 1
  19. Pedro Ferreira

    Pedro Ferreira New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    With my Odyssey driven buy a 1080ti, working at 60Hz/not 90hz, I can use: 1.3SS, don´t remember if SMAA or MSAA on High, and everything at ultra with particles, grass at medium and shadows at high..full pack of cars with thunderstorm super smooth. I had to adjust for some minutes to 60hz but now, i cannot tell the difference.

    PS: I use the same file i had used in pcars2 (config file for graphics options)
     
  20. Jason Schofield

    Jason Schofield New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    This worked great.. Thanks so much.. Can't thank you enough.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page