1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VR Discussions, Questions & Feedback

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - General Discussion' started by Heitor Facuri Cicoti, Apr 5, 2020.

  1. Kevin39

    Kevin39 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gave this a shot but if I try to assign it while in VR it freezes up, and if I try to assign it in single screen mode it doesn’t seem to remember the assignment when I go back to VR mode.

    It’s early access. I think I’ll just wait for next week’s update and try again
     
  2. charsemnome

    charsemnome New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your reply, mine is i7 9750H, but I am not sure if the processor will make any difference in this case, it's more about the GPU, right?
     
  3. Goffik

    Goffik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    305
    Not necessarily. VR can be very CPU heavy as well, and that can and does affect framerates in many cases.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Alegunner68

    Alegunner68 Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    139
    That's odd, it works fine for me. It won't remember from single screen mode because it's a different settings profile.
    Just remembered it happened to me a while back and what worked first was I re centred in WMR and then in steamvr.
     
  5. Kevin39

    Kevin39 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I’m really new to VR, got it Wednesday night. Haven’t even figured out how to recenter WMR or SteamVR yet so that could be a big part of my problem.
     
  6. Alegunner68

    Alegunner68 Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    139
    There's plenty of guides online that will explain it way better than I can.
     
  7. farcar

    farcar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm a pretty new VR user (Rift S). How does everyone navigate menus with their headests on?
    I'm using the target reticle, but still need to press enter on my keyboard to select, as I can't find anywhere to map it on my wheel.
    Thanks, if anyone can help.
     
  8. chris cadby

    chris cadby New Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    16
    On my rift s some tracks run well, others like Monaco run really badly, especially when coming through the tunnel area. I've noticed a lot of fences on all track seem to be shimmering and the shadows are strange. Can someone recommend the best settings for my rig?, Cheers. Currently running msaa at medium settings with supersampling left at 1.0. also my monitor is 1440p 144hz, should I lower the screen to the lowest possible resolution to increase frame rate in the rift?, Or does it even affect the rift?

    Gpu: power colour 5700xt red dragon
    Cpu: Ryzen 5 3600
    Motherboard: b450 gaming plus max
    Ram: 16gb ddr4
    Ssd
    PSU: 650w gold plus corsair
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2020
  9. Alegunner68

    Alegunner68 Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    139
    I turned that off, it was annoying. What wheel have you got? I use the funky switch on mine, I use the mouse as well but it was hit and miss if it always worked until I taped over the sensor inside my headset.
     
  10. NuScorpii

    NuScorpii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    417
    I use JoyToKey to map buttons to on my steering wheel to the keyboard keys to navigate the UI (arrow keys, enter, tab, backspace, esc...)
     
  11. Stevie777

    Stevie777 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Some tracks run better than others as do some cars. As many other VR games AMS2 also requires a combination of a good GPU and CPU. MSAA helps a lot with the shimmering but at a cost in FPS. I have the CV1 and run almost everything on low with LOW MSAA and textures on high ( my GPU has plenty RAM)
    I stopped using 1.5 SS in favour of the sharpening tool.
    You can find the sharpeingsettings in graphicsconfigoculusdx11.xml, located in My Documents/Automobilista2

    These are the settings i use:

    <prop name="SharpeningStrength" sharpeningstrength="1.300000" />
    <prop name="SharpeningClamp" sharpeningclamp="0.045000" />
    <prop name="OffsetBias" offsetbias="1.030000" />
    </data>
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. Goffik

    Goffik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    305
    This is because of the level of track detail more than your settings. Most tracks are surrounded by grass and trees which isn't too challenging to render. Monaco is surrounded by buildings which is much, much more performance hungry.

    So even if the game runs smoothly at most other tracks, don't be surprised if you need to drop your settings whenever you use Monaco or other detailed city tracks. I'd rather do that than sacrifice quality across the board unnecessarily.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. Ciccina2016

    Ciccina2016 Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    14
    I tried yesterday an offline race with 29 AI and rain.
    80 FPS FLAT with SS 1.5.

    While playing I was raging inside thinking about all the time wasted in other sims to get to a performance like this
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2020
  14. chris cadby

    chris cadby New Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    16
    Im hoping it will also get optimised more, as i see in the patch notes that certain tracks have "art passes" on them, so hopefully they can get monaco running better. I have a 1440p 144hz monitor, should i change that to the lowest resolution possible to help my fps in rift?
     
  15. Goffik

    Goffik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    305
    It's certainly worth a try, yes. To be honest, the performance loss caused by mirrored views on monitors is generally quite low. Most of the time it's just sending a cropped version of the image it's already rendered for your headset to your monitor, not drawing the whole thing from scratch twice. But making that cropped version smaller may well net you a few extra fps.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. chris cadby

    chris cadby New Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    16
    ok cool thanks, il give it a shot
     
  17. farcar

    farcar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks. I might need to head down that path. It seems you can map most of the UI navigation buttons natively, but not to select the highlighted option.
     
  18. Kiryu

    Kiryu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    34
    This is my first title from Reiza and i have to say, the VR is pretty enjoyable :)

    The performance is pretty good, i can easily achieve 90 fps constantly, even with 23 (sometimes more) ai drivers and relatively high settings, while looking pleasantly modern.

    Some minor and track specific stutters in a few corners aside, that's really impressive. I didn't even need to fiddle with the settings at all in the beginning to get a smooth and good looking experience.

    Playing on a 9700k@5GHz with 3200CL14 and a 1080.
     
  19. Firebolt

    Firebolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    For Monaco you can try turning crowds off (true) in the oculussetting.xml for when entering the harbour area after exiting the tunnel, it is the only track that I have noticed turning the crowds off actually works. I definitely noticed a fps boost there.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Mike1304

    Mike1304 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    40
    It‘s strange that I have no performance problems with Monaco but with Suzuka (Kansai), although Monaco has much more details and object....
     

Share This Page