1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Automobilista 2 V0.8.4.0 RELEASED!

Discussion in 'Automobilista 2 - News & Announcements' started by Renato Simioni, Apr 24, 2020.

  1. Fernando

    Fernando Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    25
    Very nice FFB update. Now I can drive and control the car in a more natural way based on the FFB information. Brake lock and, at less extent, understeer, are finally noticeable for me now. The Stock Car was a hit and miss before to me, driving it mainly by memory and visual clues, but now I'm able to feel it very alive at the wheel. Good work Reiza on this!

    Suzuka in the Stock car is a blast to drive, in every track condition.

    For reference, I'm using a T300 RS / T3PA at Gain 70, LFB 50 and FX 25. TM control panel default bar Main Force at 80%

    AI is still unaware of the player's car, it's impossible to race door to door with them, or make a pass over the racing line because the AI is bumping you every time they have to turn into a corner.

    The game is getting better with each new update, so expecting a lot more from it in the future.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Bisto

    Bisto Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    30
    Oh ok Marc, I will give that a go and see if it corrects it.

    Appreciate your reply!
     
  3. mkel1966

    mkel1966 Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    18
    I have to take back what I said about my ffb feel earlier. After adjusting the numbers in-game and re-doing my wheel set up in software, it is really good. It's like I just got my wheel for the first time, puts a smile in my face. Even though break feel is good too, after trying to race with Ai in P1 Metalmoro in Kansai, not so good experience. I have to break(even at 100% value which locks up the wheel) early to the corners now while Ai still breaks late and still makes the corner in top speed. They break at/beyond the 100 markers and if they're behind you, you get hit everytime. I hope their breaking gets adjusted too.
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Gabriel OF

    Gabriel OF New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks Marc for the explanation, that's make sense.
     
  5. Haydn

    Haydn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey @Renato Simioni, I don't know if you are following the discussion over on Steam but I have completely lost mouse support with the latest update. The cursor moves around the screen but cannot click anything. The G29 wheel does ok for getting around the game most of the time but some functions such as entering an online lobby require a mouse click. Generally I think this game is utterly fantastic in almost every way which makes this even more annoying.

    I have tried completely uninstalling and re-downloading and re-installing again only to still have the same problem. It has rendered the game almost useless to me.

    I am running a Ryzen 5 3600 and GTX 1070 and 16 GB 3200Mhz Ram.

    Cheers
     
  6. Mickael Forestier

    Mickael Forestier New Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    9
    speaking for the trucks (don't know if it has aleardy been said) , brakes ducts are closed (can't open them in the setup) then you can only 1 or 2 laps before the brake disc explode....
     
  7. Cfst

    Cfst Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    58

    After a bit more time in the simulation I hate to have to agree! definitely do not mean to disrespect the hard work of developers I am just saying that after a bit more time and fiddling I am coming to the same conclusion.

    I wonder if anyone has any insight here.

    I was using SC1, 20nm @ 100% output.
    In AMS2, OLD DEFAULT:
    Gain @ 45
    LFB @ 25
    FX @ 25

    These settings felt absolutely fantastic.

    As noted in the quoted sections I tried to increase Gain to 50 but seems the feelingis gone in the corners etc...

    Is it simply that I must adjust LFB and FX? Can't be...

    For now I go back to OLD DEFAULT with the settings above, and I am curious if any other SC1 users thoughts are in line with mine, or if a change to some settings has changed their thoughts above..

    in any case bravo for the rate of development, reiza!
     
  8. Marc Collins

    Marc Collins Well-Known Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,411
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    Yes, if you switch to New Default, you should expect to adjust LFB and FX. After they are optimized, Gain might need a tweak. The only pattern I have detected from a wide array of users of all manner of wheels is that FX=50 is most commonly quoted as the satisfactory setting. LFB is typically low for a strong wheel, around 50 for a mid-strength and high for weaker wheels. Gain is pretty easy to set once the other two are "balanced."
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Andrew Holmes

    Andrew Holmes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    One further thing guys. Does controller damping in AMS2 control options apply to ffb wheels?
    Thanks.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Gordie

    Gordie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    137
    No, only controllers bud.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Cfst

    Cfst Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    58
    @Marc Collins Thanks mate, I will give it some more time! appreciate your insight
     
  12. Andrew Holmes

    Andrew Holmes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok, slightly unclear but thought that might be the case. Thanks.
     
  13. Cfst

    Cfst Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    58
    Edit - outdated
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2020
  14. Goffik

    Goffik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    293
    Those settings in the menus have nothing to do with Crew Chief. They're for the in-game spotter and engineer which are not implemented yet.

    All you have to do to get Crew Chief to work is go to Options => System, and set "Shared Memory" to "Project CARS 2". Start Crew Chief in AMS 2 mode and it'll work just fine in practice, qualy and race sessions. It does not work in Test Day mode, presumably because the shared memory functions are disabled.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. Alegunner68

    Alegunner68 Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    138
    There's an option in crew chief for free practise/ test if you want him, haven't tried it yet.
     
  16. kodnin

    kodnin Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    165
    I'd love to know how to set this up.
     
  17. Alegunner68

    Alegunner68 Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    138
    There's an option ( properties maybe, can't remember offhand ) that brings up a huge list of tick boxes, just scroll down and opt in/out of whatever you fancy.
     
  18. Goffik

    Goffik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2020
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    293
    I don't see any option for this in CC, not under AMS 2 or general options. Can you check and tell us exactly what the option is called? Then we can use the search function.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Alegunner68

    Alegunner68 Active Member Reiza Backer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    138
    My apologies, it just has enable spotter in time trial. I must have imagined it.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  20. Cliff

    Cliff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    13
    I’ve done dozens of truck session running dozens of laps in each and never had a brake problem. You do use engine braking?
     

Share This Page